The big 270 awning brands in Australia are Kings, Darche, Bushwakka, Outback Tourer, OpenRoad, 23Zero, Campboss and Rhino-Rack, and they differ most on canvas, weight, wind rating and warranty. Prices on their own sites ran from about $599 to $1,879 for a freestanding 270 when we checked on 28 October 2026.
This guide puts every brand side by side using only what each brand states on its own website. Where a brand does not publish a figure, we say so instead of guessing. Prices change often, so treat them as a snapshot and check the brand's page before you buy.
Which 270 awning brands can you buy in Australia?
These are the main freestanding 270 awnings from each brand, with the figures each brand publishes. "Not stated" means the brand's own product page does not give it.
| Brand and model | Price (checked 28 Oct 2026) | Weight | Canvas | Waterhead | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kings Plus 270° Tourer Freestanding MKII | $599 (changed during the day we checked) | Not stated | 280gsm ripstop | Not stated | 2 years |
| Darche 270 Freestanding LED (Eclipse) | $1,879 | 26 kg | 320gsm ripstop polycotton | 3000mm | 3 years |
| Bushwakka 270 Pro | $1,149 | 25 kg | 320gsm HexaTough canvas | Not stated | 12 months structural |
| Outback Tourer 270 | $949 plus $119 shipping | 26 kg | Polycotton ripstop | 3000mm | Not stated |
| OpenRoad 270 Free Standing | $699.99 sale (was $1,124.99) | 23 kg | 230gsm polyester | 3000mm | 3 years |
| 23Zero Peregrine 270 | $899.95 sale (was $1,099.95) | 19 to 20 kg (page gives both) | 280gsm polycotton | 1500mm | 2 years |
| Campboss Shadow 270XL | $1,299 sale (was $1,589) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 12 months |
| Rhino-Rack Batwing 270 Freestanding | $1,499 RRP | 31.7 kg | 280gsm ripstop polycotton | 2000mm | 1 year |
| RIGDUP 270° Awning 2.5M | See the product page | 27 kg | 280gsm ripstop | PU3000mm | 2 years |
And how they compare on shade, mounting side, lights and wind:
| Brand and model | Coverage | Mounting side | Built-in lights | Published wind rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kings Tourer MKII | 9.4 m² | Passenger only | Not stated | Not stated |
| Darche Eclipse 270 | 11.5 m² | Left or right | Yes | 30 km/h freestanding |
| Bushwakka 270 Pro | 11 m² | Passenger only | Yes | Not stated |
| Outback Tourer 270 | 9 m² | Passenger or driver | Yes | Not stated |
| OpenRoad 270 | 8.8 m² | Left or right | Yes | 30 km/h freestanding, 60 km/h with legs and guy lines |
| 23Zero Peregrine 270 | About 10 m² | Driver side listing found | Not stated | Not stated |
| Campboss Shadow 270XL | Not stated | Passenger or driver (tent access version) | Yes | Not stated |
| Rhino-Rack Batwing 270 | 12.3 m² | Left or right | Not stated | Not stated |
| RIGDUP 270° Awning 2.5M | 2.5 m radius | Passenger (left) | Yes, 3 LED lights | Not published yet |
Every model in these tables is sold as freestanding. That means the frame holds the canvas out without legs in calm weather. It does not mean you can skip the legs and guy ropes when the wind picks up, and every brand that publishes a wind figure says the same.
What should you compare between 270 awnings?
Price gets the attention, but six things decide whether an awning still works in five years.
- Wind rating. Only Darche and OpenRoad publish one. Both rate their freestanding mode at 30 km/h. Above that, you need the legs and ropes out.
- Canvas weight and type. Heavier canvas (320gsm) is tougher and blocks more light. Polycotton breathes better and runs cooler than polyester. Polyester is lighter and dries faster.
- Waterhead. This is how much water pressure the fabric holds back before it leaks. 3000mm is a solid figure. 1500mm handles rain but less in a long downpour.
- Weight on the rack. A 270 awning weighs 19 to 32 kg. That comes off your roof load, along with your rack and any roof top tent.
- Mounting side. Some brands sell passenger side only. Others make left and right versions. Pick the side you camp on, which in Australia is usually the passenger side, away from traffic.
- Warranty. It ranges from 12 months to 3 years. Read what it covers: Bushwakka, for one, says wind damage is not covered.
If you are new to these, our 270 awning guide explains the types and sizes first, and is a freestanding 270 awning worth it covers how freestanding frames work.
Kings 270 awning: what do you get?
The Kings Plus 270° Tourer Freestanding Awning MKII is the cheapest freestanding 270 here. Kings sells it through 4WD Supacentre. The page says it needs "no poles, pegs or guy ropes", covers 9.4 m² (2.5 m each side) and uses 280gsm ripstop canvas rated UPF50+. The frame is powder-coated aluminium, and the warranty is 2 years.
Two things to know. Kings states its freestanding awnings mount on the passenger side only. And the price moved during the day we checked: $599 in the browser, with a lower "wholesale" price for members buying four or more items. The awning's weight and waterhead are not on the page. A bigger Tourer XL version covers 14.57 m² and was $799 on the same day.
Darche 270 awning: what makes the Eclipse different?
Darche's 270 Freestanding LED Awning, also called the Eclipse 270, is the most expensive model here at $1,879, and it publishes the most testing. Darche rates it to 30 km/h freestanding. In its own tests it held to 50 km/h, and to 90 km/h gusts with the poles and pegs out. Darche still says to always use the 3 included poles, and to use them every time if the awning mounts to a roof top tent.
The spec is strong: 320gsm ripstop polycotton, 3000mm waterhead, X-tube aluminium rafters, dimmable amber and white LEDs, 26 kg, and a 3 year warranty. It covers 11.5 m², or 20.5 m² with walls fitted. It comes in left and right versions.
Darche also lists the Eclipse 270 G2 at $899 (was $1,499), but it showed as sold out and on pre-order when we checked. Its canvas is 320gsm with a 1500mm waterhead.
Bushwakka 270 awning: is the 270 Pro worth it?
The Bushwakka 270 Pro (the page also calls it the Extreme 270) is $1,149. It uses Bushwakka's own 320gsm HexaTough black canvas, rated to block over 95% of UV, and weighs 25 kg on the vehicle. It covers 11 m² on a 2.3 m frame. It has three RGB LED arms with a remote and a red bug mode.
It ships with 1 leg and takes up to 4. Bushwakka says you need at least 1200 mm between the mounting brackets. Only a passenger side version is listed. The warranty is 12 months structural, and the page states wind damage is not covered.
The bigger Darkness Pro is $1,399, covers 12 m², weighs 30 kg and comes with 3 legs.
Outback Tourer 270 awning: what do the specs say?
The Outback Tourer 270 is $949, plus a flat $119 for shipping. It is freestanding with 3 built-in legs, covers up to 9 m² and weighs 26 kg. The canvas is polycotton ripstop with a 3000mm waterhead, on black aluminium double truss arms. It comes with 3 LED strips in white or warm light.
Outback Tourer makes both passenger and driver side versions, which helps if you camp on the right. The warranty is not stated on the product page, so ask before you buy. The 270 Plus X-Tend ($1,390) is telescopic, covers up to 12 m² and uses 280gsm canvas.
OpenRoad 270 awning: what does the polyester canvas mean?
The OpenRoad 270 Free Standing Awning was $699.99 on sale (down from $1,124.99). It weighs 23 kg, covers 8.8 m² and has 4 pull-down legs, tri-colour dimmable LEDs and a 3 year warranty. OpenRoad rates it to 30 km/h freestanding and 60 km/h with the legs and guy lines.
The difference is the canvas. It is 230gsm polyester with a blackout coating, rated 3000mm and UV50+, where most brands here use heavier polycotton. Polyester is lighter and dries quickly. Polycotton breathes, so the shade under it tends to feel cooler on a hot day. The 270 Awning Plus (XL) was $999.99 on sale, covers 10.5 m² and weighs 29 kg.
23Zero 270 awning: Peregrine or Onyx?
The 23Zero Peregrine 270 is the lightest awning in this comparison. The page lists it at both 19 kg and 20 kg. It was $899.95 on sale (was $1,099.95), covers about 10 m² (25 m² with walls) and uses 280gsm 65/35 polycotton with a 1500mm PU rating. It has 2 swing-down legs and a 2 year warranty. The listing we found was the right (driver) side version.
The Onyx 270 ($1,090) is the heavy-duty option: 29 kg, 13.5 m², 320gsm canvas, a six-arm TIG-welded truss, 4 poles and guy ropes, and USB-powered RGB lights.
Campboss 270 awning: what is published?
Campboss sells the Shadow 270XL Freestanding Awning, at $1,299 on sale (was $1,589). It uses a gusseted aluminium A-frame, with a 260 cm pole for each arm when it is windy, and dimmable white and yellow USB lights. The warranty is 12 months.
Campboss's own page does not state the coverage, weight or canvas spec, so we have left them out. A version with a zip entry for a roof top tent is also $1,299 and comes in passenger or driver side. Campboss does not list a standard size 270 on its own site, only the XL.
Rhino-Rack Batwing: how does it compare?
The Rhino-Rack Batwing 270 Freestanding is $1,499 RRP in left or right versions. At 31.7 kg it is the heaviest awning here, and it covers 12.3 m². The canvas is 280gsm ripstop polycotton with a 2000mm waterhead and UV50+. The warranty is 1 year. Rhino-Rack also sells a non-freestanding Batwing for $999 that extends 2.5 m.
Where does the RIGDUP 270° Awning fit?
The RIGDUP 270° Awning 2.5M is a freestanding 270 with a 2.5 m radius and an aluminium frame. It uses 280gsm ripstop canvas rated PU3000mm, has 3 built-in LED lights, weighs 27 kg and has a 2 year warranty. It mounts on the left (passenger) side and goes up in about 2 minutes.
If your rack is tight on weight or you have a shorter vehicle, the RIGDUP 270° Awning 2M is the same design with a 2 m radius, at 22 kg. Shipping is free Australia-wide.
To be straight about it: we do not publish a wind rating yet. Use the legs and guy ropes whenever the wind picks up, the same advice Darche and OpenRoad give for their own awnings.
Which 270 awning brand suits you?
| If you want | Look at | Why |
|---|---|---|
| The most published wind testing | Darche Eclipse 270 | Rated 30 km/h freestanding, tested to 90 km/h gusts with poles |
| The lowest price | Kings Tourer, OpenRoad | The cheapest freestanding 270s on 28 Oct 2026 |
| The lightest awning | 23Zero Peregrine | 19 to 20 kg, per its page |
| A driver side awning | Outback Tourer, OpenRoad, Darche, 23Zero, Rhino-Rack, Campboss | Each sells a right hand or driver side version |
| Heavy canvas for hard use | Darche, Bushwakka, 23Zero Onyx | 320gsm canvas |
| Two sizes of the same awning, with the shorter one lighter for a smaller rack | RIGDUP 270° Awning | 2.5M at 27 kg or 2M at 22 kg, both freestanding with 3 LED lights |
How much roof load does a 270 awning use?
All of it counts. Awning weight comes straight off your vehicle's dynamic roof load, along with the rack and anything else up there. A 31.7 kg Batwing and a 19 kg Peregrine are a 12 kg difference, which matters on a smaller 4WD or if you also run a roof top tent.
Check your numbers before you buy with our fitting guide. It adds up the tent, rack and awning against your vehicle's limit. For the mounting itself, see our 270 awning bracket guide. If you want to close the awning in, read do you need walls on a 270 awning first. RIGDUP does not sell awning walls, and that post explains your options.
Where can you see RIGDUP gear in action?
We post setups and walkthroughs on the RIGDUP YouTube channel. Start with the RIGDUP 1.4 walkthrough, which shows our Nomad 1.4M roof top tent. If you want a tent and an awning together, $200 comes off an awning bought with a tent. You can compare the range side by side.
Where did these figures come from?
Every spec and price above is from the brand's own product page (or, for Kings, its official retailer 4WD Supacentre), read on 28 October 2026. We left a figure out wherever the brand does not publish it.










